Grumpy Mornings and Old Streets

This morning was different.

My husband, Seth, and I are living with my in-laws for the time being while we’re working on getting our 100 year old house livable.

Jack, the wee one, has been sleeping in the living room.   Not the most ideal of situations for late night movies or hanging out and relaxing after work when I’m shooing everyone out so that the baby will actually sleep.  Things were getting a little tense concerning it, so Seth and I decided to simply bite the bullet, and move him into our room.  Living room dilemma solved.  Sleep?  Who needs that anyway.

This morning, Jack woke up at his usual time, when the light starts coming through the window, and was thrilled to see mommy right away if the big smile on his face was any indication.   After the appropriate morning cuddles and breakfast, we moved to the living room to play with the adorable blocks mommy bought him yesterday.  The blocks that everyone else in the house loves playing with, and Jack, after banging a few together cruises away to play with something more interesting.

our opinion of cool blocks

That’s ok.  I’m really the one who wanted to play with them.  😉

Back to the topic, this morning, after throwing a few blocks around, and making car noises with his uncles toy cars that only ten month olds can make, we decided that the morning really wasn’t all that fun, and we proceeded to be as grumpy and un snuggly as possible.

I’m not a fan of television.  Seth and I don’t even own one.  If we get the urge to watch a show we’ll find it online, or go in search of a redbox.  But this morning, I simply didn’t want to exert the energy to crawl around on the floor for the couple more hours before nap time and try to appease the grumpy one.   So I scooped him into my lap,  wrapped us both in a big blanket, and pulled up youtube.

We watched Elmo.

We watched Johnny Cash singing to the Grouch.

We smiled at Big Bird and Snuffy.

We turned off the newer clips of Sesame Street because they just weren’t as cool as the old ones.

We watched Cookie Monster eating cookies.

And we fell asleep snuggled in Mommies arms.

There are few things I love as much as a baby snuggling close to me of their own will, and falling asleep with their head on my chest.  Its one of the best feelings ever.  So even after he was asleep, and the shower was calling me, we stayed on the couch, just so I could listen to him breathe, rub my cheek against his fuzzy soft head, and plant kisses on his nose.

Then when we woke up, far too soon, we ate a second pancake breakfast.

And we shared cheerios with Mommy.

I guess I can live with that.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

