A Cookie Sort of Day

Some days you need cookies.  That’s really all there is to it.  It might be a wonderful day that started with Jack waking up around eight forty-five, instead of his usual seven thirty.

Then, after a cheerful breakfast and happy playing with his new blocks on the living room floor, he retires for a luxurious two hour nap without protest.

Yes… this picture is slightly outdated.  But I don’t have a current sleeping baby picture… and it’s adorable.

Ahh bliss.  Now, after you’ve showered, and done your hair, and even put deodarent on, and generally feel like a decent human being again, maybe you’ll be inspired to make something glorious.

Like an owl hat with a bow.

Or maybe you’ll just clean the house.  Or take a nap.  Or watch that missed episode of Big Bang Theory.

Or maybe, just maybe, now that you feel like a decent human being again, you’ll decide to make cookies.

Wednesday night is family game night here.  We all sit down, someone chooses a game, another person chooses a snack.  This past Wednesday, they decided to combine the two.  Enter Candy Poker.  Instead of poker chips, each person is issued a heaping bowl of candy;

M&Ms, Boston Baked Beans, Gum Drops, Orange Slices, Lemon things, Corn Nuts, Dum Dums, Ect. (Yes there were more but I don’t remember.)

Being the sort of person I am, I hoarded my m&m’s to make cookies.  I also convinced Maddy and Brenna to do the same.  Ok well Brenna I traded all my smarties too, and Maddy won the big ALL IN bowl at the end and she couldn’t POSSIBLY eat it all anyway.

In any case, I ended up with a big bag of m&ms.

…and a few red hots that surprised at least one unsuspecting person.

But they were cookies.  So no one minded too much.

I altered this recipe from the Better Homes and Gardens cookbook.

M&M cookies

1 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

bag of m&ms

Pre-heat oven to 375*

I find that lots of people have trouble when making cookies, with the cookies spreading out and making thin crunchy wafer like things when baking.  I used to have this problem too.  But I’ll share my secret with you for those glorious chewy not too thin cookies.  Because I’m a nice person.

Melt butter. Don’t just soften it, don’t use cold and beat it up well into white peaks,  melt it. Pastries and biscuits and scones need cold butter.  Cookies need melted.

So again, melt butter. In the microwave or the stove, whichever you have available, and then whisk it, by hand, into the sugar, salt, and baking soda.

When mixed well, add eggs and vanilla, and beat well.  Still, by hand.

Finally, add the flour, and m&ms and stir with a wooden spoon until all combined.

Eat a good amount of cookie dough.  It’s good for your soul.

Then, spoon by teaspoonfulls onto an ungreased cookie sheet, and bake for 8 – 10 minutes.

Eat.  Enjoy.

You won’t regret it.

And if you’re really smart, (unlike me)  you’ll hide a few in a baggie somewhere, so that on days like today, when the wee one wakes up long before you’re ready for him to, and you spend the morning disciplining him for pulling the stuffing out of your mother in laws chair, again and again and AGAIN, and things are just generally grumpy, you can sneak off and eat them.  Yes I realize that was the run on sentence of the century.  You have my most fervid apologies.

But you also have my secret to wonderful delicious cookies.  So I think we’re even.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

