Decidedly Pancakes

So, not because it was pancake day the other day, (honestly I didn’t know until I saw it on the internets,) but because I needed my favorite pancakes…  without eggshell this time, I decided to make pancakes for breakfast.

Yes it’s so exciting!

Now, some people like fluffy pancakes that stick to the roof of your mouth when you eat them.  I hate those.

Some like buckwheat.

Some like whole wheat.

Some…  whose taste buds have been corrupted beyond repair, like boxed.  I mourn for them.

These are my favorites.  I’ve made them since I was knee-high to a grasshopper.  Over time, I’ve made the recipe my own.  I don’t even remember where the original came from.

All our lovely ingredients, minus the salt, because I forgot to take a picture of it…  I’m an idiot.  Also, I normally use oil in these instead of butter…  but we were out, so I had to substitute.

Note:  I’ve found that melted butter can (ALMOST not ALWAYS) be used to replace oil.  (unless your frying something…  or something.) But not Visa Versa.

Anyway.  Mix the dry.

Add the wet.

IMAGINE COOL PICTURE HERE.

Put a pat of butter, or a tablespoon or so of oil into your pre-heated pan

And pour in a pancake sized bit of batter.  And wait until it gets bubbly.

Like that.  Right there is perfect flipping time.

See?

Yes, my pancakes usually have that two circle thing going on.  That’s what happens when you put batter in, decide that isn’t a big enough pancake, and then add more.  I sorta like it.

Now then, my husband hates fluffy pancakes as much as I do, so I thin my batter down a good bit with milk.  But I’ll also tell you how to make these fluffy too.  If that’s what you’re into.

2 cups flour

2 tablespoons sugar

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix well.

2 eggs beaten

3 tablespoons oil or melted butter

1 1/2 cups -2 cups milk.

In separate bowl, mix wet ingredients until combined.  Now, if you’re like me, you’ll get a whisk out and whisk the wet into the dry, and probably add extra milk until the batter is relatively thin.  Or, if you like your pancakes fluffy, you’ll get a wooden spoon, and stir wet and dry until just barely combined.  It’ll be lumpy and have pockets of flour in it.  But that’s what makes fluffy pancakes.  Weird.

Then with pancakes in your stomach, you can face those long work days.

Or.  You could make them because you just want pancakes.  Or because the groceries are running low, and it’s convenient.

You know.  Whatever suits you.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in breads, homemade and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

