The Ultimate Beef Stew, and Blue Paint

I’ll tackle blue paint first.  For the past three days, our little family has been at a good friends doing some work.  That is, Seth has been doing work, Jack and I were there for friends and company.  And a little time away.

Seth was repairing a wall that had some bad leakage going on, and the paint was bubbling.  He fixed the roof, fixed the wall, repainted everything the right color.  (after several tries with the wrong colors) and made everything beautiful again.

Last night, as he was cleaning things up, little man decided that he needed to investigate the paint cans.

The lids were on them, and I, in my ignorance, thought they were on tight.  Still, I pulled him away a couple of times, and told him “No.”

So then, he’s again over by the cans, but he isn’t really playing WITH them.  He’s got a roll of tape that he’s banging on things, and singing, and being a baby with.  I figure, he isn’t touching them so it’s probably…

Before I could get to “ok,” he reached out, grabbed the handle, and spilled an entire gallon of blue paint onto the white and beige living room carpet of our friends.

And all over himself.

I do not have a picture to do this justice.  We were far more concerned with cleaning blue off of white to take any.  Oh.  And bathing the baby.  Of course.

We got it (mostly) cleaned up.  There’s still a blue halo…  but the couch hides it well.

And onto the first point:

I know you rolled your eyes at my title.  Ultimate beef stew.  Seriously.  Everyone has their own version.  Some add beer, some marinate their beef, some do things that they will never reveal to other humans.

I don’t do any of those.

I also do not make the traditional beef stew.  In fact, I rather don’t like traditional beef stew.  It’s…

Well.

It’s boring.

There.  I said it.  And that is my beef, (pun intended) with most stews and soups.  There is simply not enough in them.

These are some of the things I like in mine.  And yes, there are lots of things missing here.  Namely: flour, beef stock, water, carrots, celery, paprika, salt, pepper, and Montreal steak seasoning.

I was in a hurry that night.  Sorry.

Chop onions and garlic and saute with about two tablespoons of butter.   Those green onions in the picture were actually onions I found while revamping the garden.  They were so pretty, I couldn’t let them go to waste.  They were lovely in here.

Meanwhile, cut your meat into bite sized chunks.

Add to onions and brown.

Toss in a few tablespoons or so of flour and mix well.  Let that cook for a while.  You could do the butter and flour first, but that would be smart.  And it wasn’t what I did.

Cut up the rest of your vegetables and add them to your pot, along with the beef stock and water.

Add your spices, and put on to boil.

And while that’s cooking, make these delicious breadsticks from Our Best Bites:

http://www.ourbestbites.com/2008/04/breadsticks-and-pizza-dough/

Let the stew cook for a few hours.  Preferably all day.  Adding water as needed.

You wont regret it.

Tabi’s Beef Stew

1 large onion

4 garlic cloves

2-4 tablespoons butter or oil

3 tablespoons flour

1 package chuck roast or stew beef, cut into appropriate pieces.

4 potatoes

3 tomatoes

2 carrots

2 celery sticks

zucchini grated

corn

peas

green beans

1 quart beef stock

water as needed

1/4 cup paprika

2 – 3 tablespoons Montreal steak seasoning (judge by your taste… I upend the jar over the pot myself…)

salt – to taste

extra pepper – to taste

Saute onion and garlic in butter until soft.  And flour and cook for a while to make a roux.  Add meat and brown.

While meat is browning, cut, slice, and grate up your vegetables and add all at once along with beef stock and enough water to cover everything.  Add spices.

Raise your heat, and keep your stew at a steady boil for a good couple hours.

This is best as an all day project.  When cooked all day, the meat falls apart in your mouth it’s sooo good.  However, if limited to a few hours, it’s still good.  🙂  And it’ll make you feel better if your son spills blue paint on someone else’s carpet.

Serve with your favorite bread.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in homemade, soups and stews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

