Only I Am Allowed to Be the Strawberry Thief

I would like to take this time to say that Little Man eats more than cheerios and pancakes.

I know, shocker, right?

But the fact is, he eats almost anything.  We share our ice cream with him, he eats cookies, and spinach, and potatoes.  He LOVES potatoes.  That’s probably his favorite food.  Even more than bananas.  And bananas are pretty high on the list.

Anyway, strawberries.  When I was little, like two,  mom had a strawberry bed.  Strawberries are some of my favorite things in the whole world.

Every morning I would run out to the garden, and hunt down any strawberries that had come into being overnight.  I would then, eat all of them.  Even the green ones.

My mother protested, and tried to tell me that, “Tabitha, you’re only supposed to eat the red ones!”

I didn’t listen though.  Strawberries were strawberries.  That was enough.

I did however, in a moment of unselfish generosity, pick a strawberry flower and give it to my grandma.  I informed her that if she put it in water and waited a few days it would turn into a strawberry just for her.  There was a lot of smiles at that, and later, my mother told me that once a flower was picked, it wouldn’t turn into a strawberry.

Live and learn.

Anyway, a few days ago, I bought a box of strawberries.  Jack had two of them, and I informed everyone else that they were MY strawberries, DO NOT EAT THEM.

Someone was at school that day though, and didn’t hear me.  They came home and proceeded to eat half my box.

I admit I threw a hissy fit.

I mean, STRAWBERRIES were on the line here!

Then I got over it.

And I made strawberry banana muffins.

You should make them too.

In hindsight, I think I would suggest at least two bananas, depending on how banana-y you like things.  This gave just a hint, and I think I wanted more of a punch.

This is your lovely list.  I think I got everything in the picture this time.  Go me!

Mix up all the dry things, and then throw in your egg.

Mash your banana like your mad at someone who stole your strawberries.

Toss that in too.

In fact, go ahead and throw everything else in too.  🙂

Then grab a trusty wooden spoon, and give it a good mix!

Spoon your batter into some pre-lined muffin tins.  Or you could grease them if you’d rather.  I like paper.  I hate cleaning muffin tins.  It ruins my day.

Then bake them until they’re beautiful.

Strawberry Banana Muffins

2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 1/2 cups chopped strawberries

2 mashed bananas

1 cup milk

1 egg beaten

1 tbsp butter melted

Preheat oven to 425*.  Line muffin tins with paper cups or grease well.

Mix all dry ingredients.

Add in wet and fruit, and stir just until combined.

Spoon batter into muffin cups until about 2/3 full.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until tops are lightly browned and a toothpick comes out clean.  

Enjoy with some fresh brewed coffee with a touch of cinnamon sprinkled on top.

Little man enjoyed them, just… without the coffee.

 

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in breads, homemade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

