Burgers and Tonka Trucks

It’s been raining here for the past week.  I think we might have a bit of a respite today, but our playing outside has been limited the past few days.

I was watching Jack play in the kitchen a day or so ago when I remembered an old Tonka truck that I rescued from someone’s trash pile.

Forgive me, I just can’t see things like that thrown away.  Not when they’re still good for playing with.

Bit old and rusty yeah, but it’s got all its pieces.  And Little Man likes it.  So there.

We were surprised though when the back lifted up.  The first time we fell on our rump.  The second, we decided to investigate.

Anyway, he played with his truck, I made burgers.

I love burgers.  A couple of years ago, I couldn’t eat red meat.  If I had so much as a bite or two I’d break out in hives for HOURS.  It was awful.  Wanna know the sad thing?  During that time, I didn’t want a steak.  I didn’t want roast.  What I wanted most… was a burger.

Then I got pregnant with Little Man.  Suddenly, my weird red meat allergy vanished.  Know what I ate?

That’s right.  And I thought I should share our favorites with you.

Now, this is best cooked on a grill outside over charcoal.  But it was too wet here for that.

What you need:  Ground beef, Montreal steak seasoning, Breadcrumbs, and eggs.

Put everything into a big bowl, or if you’re me, a big pot.

Mix it up good.

Form it into patties, and put to cook in a pre-heated cast iron skillet.

Isn’t it lovely?

When they’re mostly done, set them on a cookie sheet, and if you’re into cheese, top with your favorite, and pop into the oven at 350* to finish cooking, and get that cheese melted in.

Meanwhile, chop up onions and toss into the hot grease left over from your burgers.

Look how pretty!

Serve with your favorite toppings.  I made corn nuggets with this… but they didn’t  come out exactly as I hoped.  My oil was too hot the first time, and too cold the second.  But the burgers were good.  🙂

Burgers:

1 lb ground beef

1 egg

2 tbsp Montreal Steak Seasoning

1/2 cup breadcrumbs

Pre-heat cast iron skillet on stove at medium heat.  Mix all together until fully combined, and form into 3 patties.  Or 4, if you’re not that hungry.

Cook until almost finished, and then set on a baking sheet and top with your favorite cheese.  Bake at 350* until your cheese is melted, and burgers are done to your liking.

Serve with your favorite sides and toppings.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in homemade, meats and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

