Those Devilish Eggs

Somehow I have a hard time remembering it’s still supposed to be winter start of spring right about now.  Maybe its the 70 and 80 degree days we’ve been having.  I don’t know.

Seth went to bid a job the other day.  He came home with three dozen free range eggs.

Forgive me if I get REALLY EXCITED about this.  I love fresh eggs, but we can’t afford the $4 + a dozen in the grocery stores for them.  However, he got them for half of that.  Talk.  About. Awesome.

There were so many things I wanted to do with them.  Fry them and eat them over pancakes with maple syrup and butter.  Devil them.  Attempt sunny side up to see if I COULD do them.  Make the bestest scrambled eggs ever…  You know, all those things that involve eggs.

We had a finger food potluck thing at church the next day though.  So, I decided on deviled.   I would get to use oodles of Paprika, and there’s just no comparison to fresh deviled eggs.

I only did two dozen of them though.  Those fried with pancakes had to be done too.

Anyway.  Here’s your list of must haves.

Pretty straightforward.  That stuff in the measuring cup is apple cider vinegar.  Just so you know.

Aren’t they pretty?!  Ahem.  Put your desired amount of eggs in a pot, and cover with cold water.  Bring to a boil and boil em good for 12 minutes.

When they’re done, run the eggs under cold water until they’re cool enough to handle, and then peel the shells off.

cut them neatly in half, and separate the yolks from the eggs.

Salt and pepper the yolks to taste.  I like mine a little spicy.

Mash them up good with the salt and pepper, and then add enough vinegar to make them moist, but not wet.  This is important.

Add your favorite sweet relish.

And Mayonnaise.

Mix it all together good, and start filling up your yolk-less whites.

There’s probably a better way to do this than fingers and spoons…  but I’m a hands on sorta girl.

Now the best part.  Pile on the Paprika.  Some folks just want it for a touch of color…  I want a good bit of flavor on my eggs thank you.  So don’t be shy!

This is a bit light for me, but I was trying to think of others.

These are more to my taste.  They make me happy.

Deviled Eggs

1 dozen eggs

salt to taste

pepper to taste

apple cider vinegar, (enough to make yokes moist but not wet)

2 tbsp Relish (or more if you think it needs more)

1 big scoop Mayonnaise (you have to use your own judgement here, you don’t want it too wet, or too dry.)

Boil eggs on high for 12 minutes until cooked through.  Remove pot from heat, and fill with cold water until eggs can be touched.  Then remove the shells.

Slice eggs down the center and separate yokes into their own bowl

Salt and pepper to taste, and mash with a fork.

Add vinegar and mix until moist.  Add relish and mayonnaise and stir till combined.

Spoon yolk mixture into halved whites and sprinkle generously with paprika.

Enjoy with friends and family.  Or eat them all yourself.  I won’t tell.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in eggs, homemade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

