Creamy Squash Pie

So, this morning I wanted to bring offerings of homemade ravioli in a lovely cream sauce with homemade french bread to go with it.

But, last night, I overcooked my cream sauce and it came out gritty, my bread was dense because I did the very last step wrong, and I didn’t have a big enough pot to boil my ravioli in so I had to do it in steps and it was all gummy.

In summary, everyone loved the flavors, but presentation wise, it was a disaster.

Things I learned, in more advanced cooking, start small, like, for two people, not ten.

If you are doing it for ten, have REALLY big pots.

For fresh stuffed pasta, make your stuffing BEFORE you make your dough, and don’t let your dough dry out before stuffing it.

When your loving husband comes to rescue you and you instruct him on how to make the cream sauce, and it comes out perfect, don’t leave it on the heat to boil too long and turn gritty.  (He did a wonderful job, it was my fault it overcooked.  I wasn’t using my brain at all.)

Don’t push down on the old ravioli press too hard.  It’ll break.

Invest in a really good pasta press or roller thing.  I don’t have one, and I used a rolling-pin.  I got my pasta thin enough, but good night, if I had to do that every day, I’d have some beefy arms.

Anyway, I’m not bringing you a pasta dish today.  I’m bringing Squash Pie.

Because it’s good.

For the crust!
I have a friend who makes a divine crust. And I begged her for her recipe, and she graciously gave it to me. It’s soooo good.
2 cups flour
1 tbs sugar
pinch salt
12 oz cold butter
ice water
Mix dry ingredients, then cut butter into mixture with a fork to prevent melting. Have ice water ready when it’s done, just enough to mix.
Stick dough in fridge when not working.
Roll out and stick in pie pan. Roll out remaining dough between two pieces of wax paper, and stick everything in the fridge.
Now this makes a LOT of pie dough, enough for two normal pies, or one very crusty apple pie. So we usually cut it down to half a recipe, or if you want to do lattice work on top like I did, three quarters of a recipe.
Then for the filling.
2 tablespoons butter or oil
2-3 good sized garlic cloves
1 onion
4 good sized zucchini or summer squash (I used some of each)
2 chicken breast chopped
1/2 bell pepper
2 medium sized tomatoes
salt to taste
pepper to taste
1 tablespoon Italian spice mix
8 oz package of cream cheese
1 1/2 cups Parmesan
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Saute garlic and onion in butter over medium heat in a good sized pot. While those are cooking, chop squash, pepper, and tomatoes. When onions are clear, add the rest of the vegetables, chicken, salt, pepper, and spices.
Cut cream cheese into cubes, and when vegetables are soft and chicken is done, mix it in until it’s melted and creamy. Add Parmesan and mix that in too.
Get your crusts out now, and pour in filling. For topping you can either take the remaining crust and make a lattice on the top of your pie, or you can sprinkle breadcrumbs and more Parmesan on top.
Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until the crust is a lovely gold color.
Enjoy.
About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in homemade, pies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Creamy Squash Pie

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    I wonder how crusts work out if you use whole grain flour… Might be worth trying 🙂

    • Tabi says:

      Absolutely! 🙂 My husband isn’t a big fan of whole wheat, so I use it for accents mainly when I do use it, but I grew up eating nothing but. I’m sure it would still be lovely. Anything with this much butter in it, has to be good. 😉

Leave a Reply

