Looms, Triangles, And Pottery.

I love triangle looms.  They’re awesome.  You weave in from both sides at once and you’re finished twice as fast.  They’re easy, simple, and outrageously expensive to buy.

So my loving husband made me one.

A little one.  Because he loves me, and he indulges my whims.

And I proceeded to make things on it.

Like that.  I think I still have that one somewhere… but I can’t find it…  this upsets me greatly…  but I honestly can’t find it.

This was my first attempt at working with bamboo.  It was a shawl/scarf for my midwife while I was pregnant with Little Man.  She’s allergic to wool, but I desperately wanted to make her something.

When I was finished, Seth liked it so much he asked for a man scarf out of it.  After all, it was bamboo, colored in graphite.  How much cooler could that be?

And he wears it too…  I do not have a picture of it sadly.

This was a gift for one of Seth’s aunts.

This was custom ordered.

I thought I would keep this one for me….  then I traded it for amazing pottery…

Like that.  http://fromthegrounduppots.com/  Michael Mahan is the man who made it.  Go check him out.  He is amazing.  He did my wedding gift to myself dishes.

My dishes in progress…

Finished….  I paid for these…  I love them so much…  way better than china in my book.  I mean, handmade awesome pottery?  It doesn’t get any better.  Seriously.  Go check him out.

Ahem.  Anyway, looms.

Last night in home depot, I asked Seth if I bought the wood for a BIG one, will he help me make it?

He said yes.  And that he would get the wood for me.

I’ve never really built anything before.

Well, I’ve nailed wood together, and made some VERY rough shelves out of practically trash wood…  But um… something like this…  that must be stained and sanded and finished?

Never.

I hope you wish me luck.  I’ll need it.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in Construction, homemade, wool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looms, Triangles, And Pottery.

  1. Teresa says:

    Little Man says “You can do ANYTHING Mommy”!

  2. Wow, the pottery is amazing! Beautiful weaving, too!

Leave a Reply

