A Dyeing Sort of Day

Yesterday, with the slightly overzealous help of Little Man, I deleavened our room.  Spring Cleaning to everyone who’s looking at me weird.  Basically, took everything down, or out, ect, and cleaned it.

Little man helped by taking things out, and putting them back.  And pretending to vacuum things.  He LOVES the vacuum.  He’ll even tell you what sound it makes if you ask him.  It’s  the same sound cars make.  And he’s VERY good at car noises.

I think I’ve used too many capitals today.

Anyway, two days ago, before this cleaning spree hit, I finished up some trades I have going on.  The first, was two aprons, for a woven shawl.

See?  That I made.

This I get:

I LOVE trading.  And I got these from: http://www.etsy.com/shop/WyandotteWearsref=pr_shop_more  That very talented young lady.

I LOVE THESE APRONS!!!

Ahem.  moving on.  I also have another trade, yarn for salmon.

I see you looking at me funny.

A good friend of mine is marrying an Alaskan fisherman.  He makes amazing smoked salmon.  He offered to trade me some for making his lovely bride to be some yarn to work with.  I happily obliged.

Maybe you’re thinking that doesn’t seem like much…  Well you’ve probably already seen my sheep processing post.

I wanted to give you a little taste of the dyeing aspect.  But I forgot a few pictures, so you’ll have to bear with me.

I had already spun everything, and in the case of the shawl, woven it too, so I was dyeing yarn and the shawl.

First was washing the wool one last time.  This was the first wash so it was pretty dirty.

Two rinses later when the water ran clear and clean, I wrung out my yarn and shawl and set up the dyeing table.  Spraying everything with vinegar to get a good acid base.  Dyeing doesn’t smell good.

That napkin with all the colors on it, was me deciding on a color way to go with.  And this was the shawl that you saw in the first picture.  I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures of me actually dyeing the thing, my hands were full, I didn’t want to get dye on the camera, and there wasn’t anyone home who could help me.

Once it was all dyed up, I wrapped it tight in plastic wrap, and put it in a pot to steam for a good twenty minutes and set the dye.

Again, lack of picture of me washing out the excess dye when it was done.  Didn’t want to give the camera a bath.

Letting them dry.

Meanwhile, I finished redoing that poncho I got bored with.  You remember?

The redone:

I like the way it drapes a lot better.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TabisCreations

I think it was a productive week.  Although, I fed Jack  too many corn on the cobs.

He now eats Bananas the same way.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in homemade, wool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

