Home Again Home Again Jiggity Jig. Oh. And Butterhorns.

So many things happened this past week I don’t really know where to begin.

Little Man turned one.

He thought he was big enough to wear daddy’s shoes.

We took him to the zoo for the first time.  He liked the elephants and the monkeys.  Wasn’t real impressed by the lions though.

I drove the truck, which was pulling an incredibly heavy trailer over roads that mimicked a roller coaster and I didn’t kill anyone.  (Maybe you think this is silly, but I was proud of myself for not killing anyone.)

I found some church suits for 3 and 4 dollars each for Little Man.  Thrift stores peoples. It’s where it’s at.

We had THE best pot roast I’ve ever had in my life.  Hands Down Awesome.  It was made by my gorgeous friend Ashley.  I don’t even really like pot roast.  But I had three helpings of that.  Shhh.  It’ll be our secret.

I found Saffron.  A Lot of it.  For $5 at World Market.  I am in heaven.  I also found other awesome spices for amazing prices.  Be jealous.

Anyway, more things than that happened, but right now, I’m so tired I can’t even remember them all.  So I’ll move on.

There are some things a person needs after a long car trip.  Even if it’s a wonderful trip to see friends and family that you dearly love, there are things that nothing but the comfort of home can provide.

I need food.

I mean, I’ve just been on a week-long trip eating mostly in restaurants and fast food joints, not to mention the potato chips and wheat thins I’ve been munching on all trip.

I get home and I feel pretty yucky.  What do I want most?

A really amazing home cooked meal.  Complete with fresh bread.

Days of Unleavened Bread.  And Butterhorns are a favorite.  And Oh.  So.  Good.

Even Jack likes them.

Swiss Butterhorns

3 tablespoons sugar
2 cups sifted Flour
2/3 cup Butter
1 Egg yolk
¼ tsp Salt

¾ cup Sour Cream (dairy)

Measure flour and salt and sugar into bowl: cut in/rub in butter.

Stir in egg yolk and sour cream. Mix well.

Shape dough into ball: wrap in waxed paper. Chill overnight.

Divide dough into 3 parts.

On lightly floured board, roll each into 12 inch circle, then cut in 12 pie-shaped wedges.

Starting at wide edge, roll up.
Place on greased baking sheet with point tucked underneath.
Bake at 375 degrees for 20 to 25 minutes. Remove from oven.

Makes 3 dozen.

PS.  Don’t be fooled by the 3 dozen.  These babies aren’t that big.  And they’ll go fast.

And they’ll make everyone happy.  Even those who are tired and grumpy from long car trips.  😉

 

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in breads, cooking, homemade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

