Purple and Pastries

I felt like one of THOSE mommies the other day.

Seth and I were working on the house.  Well, Seth was, I was taking care of Little Man.  And it was really hot.  So, I stripped Jack down to his diaper and let him run around.

Minus the boots…  that was his aunt’s idea.

Anyway, I got a call from Seth asking for the truck.  It was hot, I was in a hurry, so I just popped Jack in his car seat, grabbed the diaper bag, and drove to my darling husband.

He told me we were going to the store to pick up a few things.  I knew I had just cleaned out the diaper bag from the trip, and there wasn’t anything in it but diapers and wipes and a couple of toys.

So…  Jack and I traipsed through the store flaunting our diaper.  Hey.  At least he’s a cute nekkid baby.  :p

Then we got back in the truck, and I remembered that when I stripped him down earlier in the day, I’d stuffed his clothes in the diaper bag.

I made a dress today.

It’s purple.  I like purple.  Seth doesn’t like purple.  But I think he’ll like this.

At least, I hope he likes it.  He liked the half-finished product last night.

Anyway.  My little brother-in-law revealed to me that one could move things from the camera’s internal memory to the SD card.  Which means, that the strawberry pie pictures I’ve been trying to get off of my camera for the past three years are now available for viewing.

I thought I’d share.  After all, strawberry season is here, and what better way to celebrate?  Strawberries should be celebrated.  They’re awesome.

There are a few steps to this pie.  It’s not hard, it’s just a little time-consuming.  Mostly because of the crust.  It’s a cookie crust, and instead of buying graham crackers and going the easy route…  I make my own cookies.

It’s so very good.

So you make your cookies, and crumble them, and pour melted butter into them…  and smash that into your pie pan until it makes a crust.

Then you spread a concoction of cream cheese, vanilla, and sugar over the bottom.

Top that with fresh strawberry slices.

Meanwhile, you take other strawberries, and cook them down with sugar, cornstarch, vanilla or cinnamon, and a touch of water.

when it’s all nice and thick, you pour over the rest of the pie.

And then, because you’re impatient like me, you stick it in the freezer to chill.

Or if you’re patient, the fridge.

Then your husband tells you after the first bite that it’s the best pie he’s ever eaten.  Completely restoring your cooking confidence after the Chicken Salad fiasco.

At least, that’s what mine did.

Note, for anyone who keeps the Feast of Unleavened Bread, this is still taboo till Saturday.  :p

Crust:

Vanilla wafers:

1 1/4 cup flour

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/8 tsp salt

1/2 cup butter (one stick)

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

1 tbsp vanilla

Pre-heat oven to 400*

Grease cookie sheets.

Mix flour, baking powder, and salt, set aside.

In another bowl, cream together butter and sugar.  Beat in eggs, then add vanilla.  Stir in flour mixture.  Drop dough 2 inches apart on cookie sheets.

Bake 10 minutes.  Makes about 4 doz.

When cookies are cooled, crumble enough to make maybe a cup or two or of crumbs.  (I haven’t made this in a while, so I’m guessing here.  If it doesn’t look like enough, add more.)

Melt 1/4 cup of butter, and pour over crumbs.  Mix well.  Pat mixture into pie pan, patting down to cover the pan.

Pop in the oven for another ten minutes.  Remove, and cool.

Filling:

1 package cream cheese softened.

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla

Cream together , and then spread over crust.

Top that with slices of fresh strawberries.

Strawberry filling:

2 cartons fresh strawberries, sliced

3/4 cup sugar

1 tsp vanilla or sprinkling of cinnamon.

1/4 cup cornstarch dissolved in 1/4 cup water.

Cook everything over medium heat in a good-sized sauce pan.  Mash strawberries with a potato masher to get them nice and soft.  Bring to a boil and let simmer for a few minutes until thick.

When strawberries are fully cooked, pour filling over the cream cheese and fresh strawberries.

Pop into the fridge to chill.  Serve cold.

It will make you feel like a much better mommy.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, pies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Purple and Pastries

  1. Teresa says:

    Just use an unleavened cookie crust during Unleavened Bread. Or, the original recipe called for a Chex cereal crust, which I think is unleavened.

Leave a Reply

