Fruit and Flowers

One wedding down, one to go.

Everything was lovely.  From the flowers:

I LOVE the burnt edges on the flowers.  It kept the fabric from fraying, and gave an AWESOME effect of petals.  I love it.

To the Bride and the cake.  I have to combine the two, I didn’t take pictures like I shoulda. *sigh*  I’m not very good at this.  Be patient with me.

Jack liked the cake.

And yes there is a reason he’s half-naked baby…  It was hot.  Babies get grumpy when they’re hot, and baby suits, aren’t exactly cool.

We’ll just say he started the day like this.

You can’t see it, but there was a brown tie involved too.

Forgive my crazed smile.  It had been a very long day.  Jack screamed all through church.  ALL through.  So I was a little frazzled.

Know what made it all better?

Growing up, I wasn’t a big fan of fruit salad.  It always had apples and oranges and bananas.  And the apples and bananas were always brown.

The citrus juice over everything myth is a lie.

Then I got married.  I learned a lot of things.  One of them was that, fruit salad is AMAZING.

And beautiful.

And easy.

Strawberries, Kiwi, Bananas, Grapes, canned peaches.  If you can, also add fresh pineapple.  Sadly for us, Wal-Mart was out.

I’m still mad at them.

Open the peaches.

Dump em into a big bowl.  Big bowls are essential.  They hold a lot of fruit salad.

Peel Kiwis.

Watch weird sister-in-law proceed to eat all the peels.

Slice em all up and add to peaches.  Kiwis.  Not sister in laws.

Wash strawberries. They’re pretty.

Slice em up too.

And the bananas.  You know the drill.

Add them all to the bowl and mix.

Pout because you forgot to take a picture of all the fruit in an unmixed gorgeous state.

Seriously…  the contrast and colors were amazing.

But then again… it’s gorgeous all mixed up too.

Devour.

Recipe:

1 box strawberries

3 bananas

1 can peaches

1 bunch grapes

4-5 Kiwi

1 pineapple – if you’re store is nice enough to have them.

Slice or chop everything but the peaches and grapes, and mix together in a large bowl.

You’ll wonder why man ever bothered inventing candy.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fruit and Flowers

  1. Denise says:

    So why doesn’t it turn brown?

  2. Pingback: Grilled Chicken Apricot Sandwich And Baby Birds. | (The Not So) Hippy Mommy

Leave a Reply

