Critters and Comfort Food

Little critters make me happy.

So I made a bee.

And a Ladybug.

Because they’re cute.  And they make me happy.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/TabisCreations

They can make you happy too.

Sometimes though, I need more than cute critters to make me happy.

Sometimes, we all need a little comfort food in our lives.  Maybe we’re sad.  Maybe we’re celebrating.

Maybe we feel boxed in.

But whether you nibble naughtily in hiding:

Or pig out for all to see:

Is completely your choice.

I prefer to tell everyone about it so that they pig out with me, and I don’t feel quite so glutinous.

Chocolate covered pretzels were my poison of choice a few days ago.

I mean, that is, someone had bought pretzels, and Brenna and I found candy melts in the pantry.

So, after cleaning the house, and doing other things to feel better about ourselves, and deserving of treats such as these… as well as to appease the woman whose kitchen I was using and who’s pretzels I was eating…

We launched ourselves into salty, chocolate bliss.

Step one:

Chocolate melts in a double boiler.  If you don’t have one, like me, it is perfectly acceptable to rig one up by putting a bowl over a pot of boiling water.

Get it nice and melted.

Step two:

Cover a cookie tray in wax paper:

Step three:

Remove redneck double boiler from heat, (but keep the bowl on the pot), and insert pretzels.

Mix ’em good.

And deposit them on your prepared cookie sheet.

I may have gotten impatient towards the end.

Place in freezer so as to hasten chocolate hardening process.

And ten or so minutes later, get them out, pile them on a plate, and watch them disappear.

I won’t tell you how I aided that process.

Recipe:

1 package chocolate candy melts

1 big bag pretzels.

Line cookie sheet with wax paper.

Melt chocolate in a double boiler.

Mix in a handful of pretzels into melted chocolate and remove with forks onto wax paper.

When all pretzels are coated, set cookie tray in freezer for ten minutes.

Remove, and enjoy.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, desserts, homemade, wool and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

