Blueberry Muffins

We’ve been dog sitting for some good friends this week.  And as much as I don’t like dogs, this one is quite well-behaved.  So far, my only beef with him is that he has a talent for being in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Like, in the kitchen doorway when we’re trying to bring in groceries, or in the middle of the kitchen when we’re trying to cook dinner.

If he were little, it might not be bad, but as a full-sized collie, he’s a little large to just nudge out-of-the-way.  It would be a lot of nudging.

Anyway, we were supposed to give him his heart medicine this week.  But wrapping it in great gobs of peanut butter didn’t work so well.

So this morning, I dug the pill out of the goop, and ventured into the unknown.

Growing up, I’ve administered lots of pills to dogs over the years.  At my parents house there are currently still three.  Two border collies and a mutt.  None of them exceptionally big, but big enough.

Suffice to say, I had serious second thoughts about administering this pill when I stuck my hand in this dog’s mouth.  He has a LOT of teeth.  For some reason, I remember being able to get past all the teeth if you do this right…  I never found that point.  His teeth just kept going, and getting sharper.

He also wasn’t real happy with me sticking my fingers down his throat.

BUT!  I escaped with all my fingers still intact, and he got away with a healthier heart.

And then we all ate muffins to calm our nerves.

They were very good.

Blueberry Muffins

2 cups flour

3/4 cup sugar

3 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

1 cup frozen blueberries

1 cup milk

1 egg beaten

4 tbsp butter melted

Pre-heat oven to 425*.  Line muffin tins with paper cups or grease well.

Mix all dry ingredients.

Add in wet and fruit, and stir just until combined.

Spoon batter into muffin cups until about 2/3 full.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until tops are lightly browned and a toothpick comes out clean.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in breads, cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blueberry Muffins

  1. Teresa says:

    I stopped doing the fingers in the dogs throat thing quite a while back. Now, I just put the pill in their food bowls, add meat juice and it just becomes part of the meal. YUM! And, piano fingers still intact. 🙂

Leave a Reply

