Wedding Cakes and Pretty Pictures

I have a friend who is a photographer.

She is amazing and I love her dearly.

She took one of my absolute favorite pictures at our wedding:

She did a photo shoot with Jack when he was six weeks old, and I can’t wait to be in our own house so I can put her pictures on the walls.

Seriously.  I don’t know how she does it.  She’s amazing.

Anyway, her brother and Seth’s cousin got married a little over a week ago now.  I made the cake.

And I begged her to take pictures for me to use on here, because I knew she could do amazing things.

I mean come on.  She can make bags of flour, and imitation vanilla look good.

I’d like to say, I didn’t intend to use imitation vanilla, but I got there, and realized I’d left my real stuff at home.  However, I made up for it (slightly) by putting vanilla bean in the cake.  It was amazing.

Just to show how redneck cooking it was, yes, I totally was using an ironing board as workspace.  I loved every minute.

Coka cola bowl, and an electric mixer from dollar tree.  It doesn’t get any better.

That mixer survived the whole process.  There were times I feared for its life, but it was a brave little mixer, and lasted to the bitter end.

Before the oven…

Pulling them out.  I love that oven.  it baked the cupcakes to perfection without burning the bottoms and leaving the tops undone.  It was heaven.

We didn’t have cooling racks.  So we made do with cutting boards.

There may have been some goofing off…  after all, there were five girls in a small kitchen.

While the cupcakes were cooling I got busy on the frosting.

I think it was happy.

I love the colors that happen when you first start to mix it up…

I may even get overly animated.

But the bride was happy with the results.

It was a peacock themed wedding, so lots of blues and greens.

I wish I had pictures of the cupcakes on the stand, but sadly, those haven’t been released to the public yet.  *le sigh*

Anyway.  If you get the urge to make these cupcakes too, I made them from Joy the Baker.  Her Vanilla Cupcakes are amazing. So is her frosting.  So that’s what I made.

And P.S.

Check out Marley’s other works.  http://www.etsy.com/shop/MarleyShort  She is stellar.

 

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Wedding Cakes and Pretty Pictures

Leave a Reply

