More Pictures and Banana Fritters

So some of the official wedding pictures have been released, and I thought I’d show y’all the finished wedding cake.

And show off Marley some more.

Yes I realize that isn’t cupcakes, I just love the picture of Marley and Me.

Now them’s cupcakes.

 

In black and white too!

My sister-in-law did the stand.

Anyway, I have far less pretty pictures to offer you today of banana fritters as well.

So much less pretty that it makes me sad to put them up.

They do taste good though.

And I made them up myself.  *preens*

This is a little recipe, mainly because I had only one banana.

You work with what ya got.

Put a banana in a bowl.

Mash said banana.

Add milk.

And egg and oil.

Sugar, salt, flour, and baking powder.

Mix in vanilla.

Fry until golden brown.  Don’t have your oil too hot like me.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and devour.

Recipe:

1 very ripe banana

1 egg

3 tbsp oil

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup flour

1/2 cup sugar

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp salt

Oil for frying.

In a small sauce pan pour 1/2 inch or 1 inch of oil and set to heat on medium.

In a mixing bowl, mash banana.  Add milk, egg, vanilla and oil, and mix well.

In a separate mixing bowl, mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.

Add dry to wet, mix well.

Spoon batter into hot oil.  Try to string the batter out lengthwise, they cook better that way.

Turn over as they brown to get an even cooking.

When done, set to drain off excess oil on paper towels.

Sprinkle with powdered sugar and devour.

 

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More Pictures and Banana Fritters

  1. chefconnie says:

    Banana fritters…very yummy. Love your cupcake wedding cake!

Leave a Reply

