Andes Mint Cookies and Mommies

Being a mom is tough.  A joy, yes.  Wonderful, yes.  Filled with trial and error, yes.

People get grossed out at your babies constant stream of drool, snot, or whatever other bodily fluid they decide to release.

We wipe our babies faces with our t-shirts because we can’t find a towel within easy reach.

And we don’t change our shirt every time.

Skirts work well for this too.

People say, “Let them cry a little, it won’t hurt them!”

It hurts us though to hear them cry.

Or, people say, “Your baby won’t be quiet, and it’s bothering others.”

And then we cry too because we’ve tried everything and we’re at our wits end.

We get spit up on more times than we can count.

We wake up multiple times at night and stay up to feed, and soothe, and comfort.

Baby smiles at 2 AM are what keeps us going.

And sometimes we bathe them in the sink.

Because it’s closer than the Bathtub.

Andes mint cookies make me happy.

They make up for thin mints when I can’t afford girl scout cookies and grasshoppers.

1 cup butter

1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking soda

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 1/2 cups flour

bag of Andes mints chopped finely

Pre-heat oven to 375*

Melt butter. In the microwave or the stove, whichever you have available, and then whisk it, by hand, into the sugar, salt, and baking soda.

When mixed well, add eggs and vanilla, and beat well.  Still, by hand.

Finally, add the flour, and Andes mints and stir with a wooden spoon until all combined.

Eat a good amount of cookie dough.

Then, spoon by teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet, and bake for 8 – 10 minutes.

You may have to fight off predators.

But it’s totally worth it.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, desserts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

