Waffles, And The Dangers of Jumping Off Swings

Yesterday was Mothers Day.  Seth, Jack and I went to the park for a luncheon play date.  It was lovely.  Mommies need other mommies to talk to.  It’s a fact of life.

Sadly…  I didnt’ have a camera with me to capture Seth falling into the mud…

He was swinging, waving at Jack, Jack thought that was pretty cool.  But he and I were headed to the big rocket slide.  Slides are fun.

So we’re headed away, and Jack started signing ‘Daddy’.  So we turned around to wave at Seth…

Only he wasn’t on the swing any more.

He’d decided to jump off, pulled his arms free, missed his first jump, was trying to wait for a second, when the swing unceremoniously dumped him into the giant mud puddle beneath his swing.

I think his pride was hurt more than he was.

So I didn’t get any pictures of that.

Or Jack playing in the general vicinity as the other little person he was supposed to meet.

Babies don’t seem interested in having much to do with each other.  As long as they can play with each others toys, and not be bothered, they seem pretty happy.

Waffles make little people happy too.

I didn’t have any milk when I made these, so I had to be creative.

1 3/4 cup flour

2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 eggs

1 cup water

3/4 cup sour cream

1/2 cup oil

1 tsp vanilla

1 can cooking spray (or you could put vegetable oil in a spray bottle…  just something to spray on the waffle maker once it’s hot so your waffles don’t stick to it.)

Plug in waffle maker so it can heat up while you mix your waffle batter together.

Mix all dry ingredients together.

In a separate bowl, mix all wet.

Combine the two and mix just until combined.

Spray hot waffle maker with oil, and spoon on batter.  Cook until golden brown.

Serve with maple syrup, fresh fruit, and love.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in breads, cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waffles, And The Dangers of Jumping Off Swings

  1. your a good mommy you dont have to be a stuck up soccer mom that only eats organic your perfect the way you are and im sure jack loves you for it. Im sure he loved his lolly pop yesterday and guess what its not gonna kill him lol had a great day yesterday thanks

Leave a Reply

