Boneless BBQ Bites

When I was little, I hated barbecue.  I hated it so much that at church functions or friends get-togethers, I wouldn’t eat it. Or, in an extreme case, I would rinse my meat off when no one was looking.

Gross right?

Up into my teenage years, I refused it, hated it, wished it had never been invented.

Then, one year, my family and I went to Jamaica for the feast.  I discovered I actually liked pineapple.

I learned I did not like breadfruit.

Fried bananas were amazing.

And Jamaicans are not good at making Italian food.  Although, they did make one amazing pesto.

They also make the most amazing Jerk sauce on the face of the planet.  And it’s kinda like Barbecue sauce.  Only 100 times better.

But it opened my eyes to the possibilities.  I now love that sticky red sauce we spread on meat and grill over the fire.

Or… in another case…  that we pour over fried bits of chicken and devour.

It’s great man food too.  Husbands, (and kids if they’re not weird like me)  love it.

At least, Jack did.

Totally great and easy Memorial day food.  Or 4th of July, since Memorial day was yesterday.  Or really any day you’re digging through the fridge and end up with chicken and BBQ sauce.

That is totally an American meal right there.

Ahem.  Recipe.

1 pack of chicken breasts, enough for your family Cut up into bite sized pieces.

2 eggs

1 part flour

1 part cornstarch

salt and pepper to taste.

oil for frying

your favorite BBQ sauce.  Can be sweet, or spicy, doesn’t matter.

Pour BBQ sauce into a sauce pan and let heat up over low.  Stir occasionally until hot.

If you have a fryer, get it warming up, or if you’re me, set a large cast iron skillet over med heat with about 1/2 inch of oil in the bottom to heat up.

Whisk eggs together for a few seconds, and then dunk the chicken pieces in to get them nice and coated.

In another bowl, mix together flour, cornstarch, salt and pepper, and after the chicken has been in the egg wash, coat them in the flour mixture.

Once covered in flour, set them gently in the oil (so it doesn’t spatter) and fry until done, turning once.

Set them on paper towels to drain.

Combine fried chicken and hot bbq sauce in a large bowl and mix well.

Serve with Corn on the cob, broccoli and cheese, and your favorite rolls.

 

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, meats and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

