Not So Traditional Bierocks

It’s been rather busy here of late.

I made an owl.  https://www.etsy.com/listing/101153800/harold-the-owl

Jack discovered sweeping.

And shoes.

And I remembered these.

Bierock?  What’s a bierock?

Traditionally, it’s a German pastry, stuffed with cabbage, ground beef, and onions.

I’ve never had one.  Simply because it sounded far too boring.

So…  I made something completely different.

I put in onions, garlic, carrot, potato, peas, sausage, salt, pepper, cumin, garam masala, and cheese.

I may have been really wanting samosas instead.

But you use what you got!

Recipe:

bread

2 cups warm water

1 tbsp honey

2 (.25 ounce) packages active dry yeast

1/2 cup white sugar

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 egg

2 teaspoons salt

7 cups all-purpose flour

(Feel free to halve this, it’s what I did on my first try.)

In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water with a spoonful of honey. (You can use sugar, but honey works better). Let stand until bubbly, about 10 minutes. Mix in sugar, butter, egg, salt and 1/2 of the flour. Beat until smooth; add remaining flour until dough pulls together. Place in oiled bowl. Let it rise for 1 hour.

Pre-heat oven to 350*

Filling:

1 onion

2 cloves garlic

2 tbsp butter

1 carrot grated

1/2 cup frozen peas

1/2 a boiled potato, peeled

1 lb your favorite sausage removed from casing

salt to taste

pepper to taste

1/2 tsp cumin

1 tsp garam masala

Colby jack cheese sliced.

In a med sized skillet, saute onion and garlic in butter.  Add carrot, sausage, peas, potatoes, and spices and cook until meat is well done. Set aside.

Punch down dough and separate into 20, (or if you’ve halved the recipe, 10) little balls.  Roll out each one into a square, thinner the better, and spoon some of your meat mixture into the center, topping with a slice of cheese.

Using your fingers brush a little water onto the edges of the dough to help them stick, and fold the dough over and seal the edges together.

Place on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Serve with your favorite dipping sauce.  We like Mustard.

 

Meanwhile, saute onion and garlic in butter.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in breads, cooking, meats and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

