Cornbread Better Than the Box

The girls went blueberry picking last week.

Jack got to try them for the first time.  He wasn’t real sure what to make of them.  We discovered that if you gave him one at a time, he would happily eat them without  complaint.

We also discovered if you gave him more than one at a time, he would bite into them, spit them out, and then bite into the next one.

I don’t know.  I really don’t.

Anyway, with everyone coming home from Pre-teen camp today, and me having dinner ready for them when they get home, I thought I’d make some pot roast with blueberry cobbler for dessert.

That… is not what I’m going to share with you today.

The other day I made chicken tortilla soup with cornbread.

Today I’m going to share the cornbread with you.

I promise you won’t be disappointed.

It’s quite good.

Cornbread

1 cup cornmeal

1 cup flour

2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 cup sugar

3 tbsp oil

1 egg

1 cup milk

Pre-heat oven to 420* and oil a large cast iron skillet.  Place oiled skillet in the oven to warm up.  It’ll give the cornbread a lovely crunchy edge.

In a large mixing bowl, mix all dry ingredients together.

Add wet, and mix until combined.

Pour into hot skillet and bake for 20 minutes or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean.

If you’re like me… you’ll then crumble it into a glass and pour milk over the top…

It’s so very good.

P.S.  I’ll share my blueberry cobbler with you someday… after I see how it turns out.

P.P.S.  If you’re totally disappointed and craving blueberries…  it’s totally ok to mix a cup of them into your cornbread.  Trust me on this, it’s amazing.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in breads, cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cornbread Better Than the Box

  1. Pingback: Chicken Tortilla Soup | (The Not So) Hippy Mommy

Leave a Reply

