Chicken Tortilla Soup

I had a visitor last week.  He was just learning how to fly.

And he obligingly let me take lots of pictures of him while he posed fearlessly, preparing for his next flight.

I thought he was cute.

Anyway, in my ‘about me’ section, or whatever it is, I mention that although I love cooking with raw and natural foods, I’m not opposed to cans and boxes when the need arises.

And for me, the need arises occasionally for Chicken Tortilla Soup.

If you are anti-can, this recipe is not for you.

If you like huge chunks of avocado floating around, this recipe is not for you.

If you insist all your recipes be made from completely organic, raw vegetables that you cut up and process yourself, this recipe is not for you.

If you want something simple, fast, incredibly tasty, and it’s a bit of a hard week and you could use some leftovers for future meals.  This recipe is totally for you.

This recipe is an old family friends.  I love it dearly.  It goes wonderfully with this cornbread recipe too.

Chicken Tortilla soup.

3 cloves garlic minced

1 onion, chopped small

1/4 cup butter

4 boneless skinless chicken breasts chopped into bite sized pieces

1/4 cup lime juice

3/4 cup cilantro

4 corn tortillas chopped into bite sized pieces

1 can ro-tel tomatoes and chilis

1 can cream of chicken soup

1 can corn

1 can black beans

4 cups chicken broth

salt and pepper to taste

cheese

corn chips

In a large soup pot, saute your onions and garlic in butter until onions get that clear finished color.

Add chicken and brown.  When chicken is mostly done, pour in the lime juice and let simmer for about two minutes.

Add your tortillas, corn, beans, ro-tel, cream of chicken soup, cilantro, salt, pepper, and chicken broth and bring to a boil.

Let simmer for about.. ten or fifteen minutes until all the flavors have melded together.

Serve with cornbread, or corn chips and top with your favorite shredded cheese.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, soups and stews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

