Little Man and Jalapeno Jelly

Things have been rather busy as of late.

I want it noted that Jack did the boots all by himself.  He likes to pretend he’s daddy.

He also got a new car seat.  Now he can see all the cars on the road. We hear lots of car noises.

He’s decided he LOVES reading books.  As of about three weeks ago.  And he’ll sit through even the longest ones I dare read him.  He may get squirmy, but he’s a champ.  Although he does insist we read his favorite dinosaur book every day.  He does all the roaring and squeaking to accompany it.

This week however hasn’t been so pleasant.  Along with far too much personal tragedy, Jack caught pink eye from somewhere, and at the same time, has four baby molars coming through.

We’ve had lots of screaming and crying.  From Jack AND Mommy.

However, despite all this, I’m rather proud of all the canning I’ve been able to get done this summer.

The biggest thing I’ve been making is this:

Glorious Jalapeno Jelly.

First Seth’s grandparents brought over a lovely bag of it for us, so I whipped up a batch.

Then a friend had some, and asked me to make him some…

So I did.

Then my Mother-in-law left for Montana taking a car load of teenagers to camp, and needed to make gift baskets for the lovely people they’re staying with on the way.

So she bought me more jalapenos to make jelly for them too.

And finally, our neighbors at our new house, have a garden that is bursting with tomatoes and jalapenos.

So guess what I’m making today?

I love this recipe.  It’s SO simple.

1 lb Jalapenos, or other hot peppers of your choice.

2 cups apple cider vinegar

6 cups of sugar

2  3oz packets of liquid pectin.

other supplies:

Jars and jar lids

large canning pot

Jar remover thing from hot water…  I think it’s called a jar lifter

funnel

towel

tongs

In your large canning pot, fill it to where the water will cover your jars standing up.  Then put it on to boil.  When it does, put in all your empty jars and lids to sterilize for ten minutes.  The tongs are good for putting the empty jars in and taking them out, it’s easier to get them in and out of the water without getting splashed.

Meanwhile, cut the stems off your jalapenos, slice them lengthwise and remove the seeds.  (doesn’t have to be perfect.)

Then put them in a blender or food processor with one cup of vinegar and puree.

Pour blended jalapenos into another pot and add the rest of the vinegar and the sugar.  Bring to a boil.

Then add your pectin, mix well, and bring it back to a hard boil.  Let cook for about ten minutes, then turn your heat off, and spoon mixture into your jars via the funnel.

Leave about a quarter-inch of space at the top of the jars.

Screw the lids down tight, and then put full jars back in the boiling water for about ten minutes.

Remove with the Jar lifter, and let sit undisturbed for 24 hours on a towel.

Store in pantry.

Serve with cream cheese on crackers, spread on fried chicken…  put it on whatever you think it should be on really…  there are no limits.

You won’t regret it.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in canning, cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Man and Jalapeno Jelly

  1. Mary Brecheen says:

    Your son is adorable!
    Thanks for the hit pepper jelly recipe.
    I am going to try it.

Leave a Reply

