Camping Kabobs

Weekend before last we went camping.

Seth was cleaning off his desk and found our pass for the Tyler State Park, which expires in January.  I’d wanted to go camping for a while, and when he found it, he said, “Well, this weekend or next?”

I picked next.  The weather was fine, I wanted time to prepare, what could go wrong?

Next weekend rolled around, at a brisk 37 degrees, and a need for gloves hats and jackets.  Hauling everything out to the truck I was groaning.  “This was MY idea.  I can’t complain about the cold because it was MY idea.”

But we braved it out anyway.  We’d invited a family we’re good friends with to go with us.  And we had a wonderful time.  Despite the cold.  It warmed up during the day enough for the kids to run around without jackets and hats, although I made Jack stay pretty bundled up…  Because I’m a mom.

I’d tried to get out our owl hats from last year, but sadly, Jack had outgrown his.  So I think I’ll make a family of dinosaur hats for this year.  Meanwhile, we found one of those dollar hats at Wal-Mart to make him wear.

I think one of his favorite parts was eating hot dogs.

We ate a LOT of hot dogs.

And Carrie made smores in a pot.  We couldn’t find kosher marshmallows so we used marshmallow creme, and wrapped everything in foil.  It was pretty awesome.

Then for dinner, when we were tired of hot dogs and in need of some vegetation,

Seth made some delicious kabobs.

They were a perfect end to the evening.  Along with some hot chocolate that may have had a splash of rum in it.  Shhh!

Anyway.  I wanted to share Seth’s Kabob recipe with you.  Because it was wonderful.

Kabobs are simple, and easy.

1 chuck roast or rump roast cut into chunks

your favorite vegetables.  We used

Zucchini

mushrooms

bell peppers

purple onions

Montreal steak seasoning

Kabob sticks

You can also do cherry tomatoes, pineapple, figs, really whatever you want…

The meat we sprinkled liberally with Montreal steak seasoning and then let it set in a bag in the cooler overnight to let the seasoning sink it.

Once your fire is nice and hot, layer your meat and veggies on your sticks until it’s loaded to your satisfaction.

Then place on the grill, turning every so often until the meat is cooked to your satisfaction.

Remove and enjoy.

I know we did.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, meats and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

