Tikka Masala, Naan, and Little Man

This week has been interesting.  

One morning jack managed, without taking his PJ’s off, to remove his diaper and push it completely down one leg of his jammies without us knowing.

That is until he peed all over me right after breakfast.

Yesterday he managed this:

Image

I don’t know how…  I looked over and he was giggling and very proud of himself.

He also has a new rocking horse.

Image

Courtesy of some wonderful friends.  We have lots of “Yee hah!” going on.  I love it.

My little man is growing so fast.  He’s ‘reading’ himself books, he chatters to me all the time. He sings, he dances, he thinks blocks, dinosaurs, legos, rocks, dirt, seeds, books and mommy and daddy are the coolest things on earth.

Image

He also looks pretty sharp in a suit.  

Some days it’s hard not to simply break down crying over how big he’s gotten.  

Those days I blame the pregnancy hormones.

Anyway, I know you’re really here to see food things.  Not baby pictures.

Or maybe I just put up the baby pictures so you’ll look at my food.  :p

Last night I made what I’m secretly hoping will become a family favorite.

Chicken Tikka Masala with homemade Naan.

Image

Even Seth, who claims to hate Indian food, put down his fork, looked at me, and said, “I do so like green eggs and ham.  I do, I like them, Sam I am.”

I was so happy I could have cried.

He still says he doesn’t want to go to Indian restaurants.  But instead of walking into the kitchen and going, “Ugh, is that curry?”  Last night it changed to, “Wow, that smells AMAZING!”  

It’s a work in progress.

Anyway,  recipe.

Adapted from http://sweetpeaskitchen.com  I love her Tikka Masala.  So. Good.

  • 1 cup plain yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice, from 1 lemon
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 teaspoons freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh ginger, or in a pinch, 1/2 a teaspoon powdered ginger.  
  • 1 teaspoon salt, or to taste
  • 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces

Mix all that up and let that marinate for at LEAST 4 hours, if not a full day.  It gets all the flavors falling in love.

Then, as you’re making the sauce below, if you have a grill, you can put the chicken on that and grill it.  I don’t, so what I do, is take a cooling rack, and place it on top of a cookie sheet.  Put all the chicken on that, and stick it under the broiler on high.  When it’s getting some color, and is at least mostly done, it’s time to add it to the sauce. (Below) About 5-7 minutes.  Although it’s best to keep an eye on it.  Everyone’s oven is different.

Sauce:

  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 jalapeno pepper, finely chopped
  • 2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 teaspoons salt, or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon garam masala
  • 1 (8 ounce) can tomato sauce or crushed tomatoes
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions

  1. In a large heavy skillet over medium heat melt butter. Saute garlic and jalapeno for 1 minute. Stir in cumin, paprika, salt, and garam masala. Stir in tomato sauce and cream. Simmer on low heat until sauce thickens, about 20 minutes.
  2. Add chicken to the sauce mixture and simmer for 10 minutes. Transfer to a serving platter, and garnish with fresh cilantro.

Now, up until now, I’ve been buying Naan at the store, to serve with any Indian food I make. But this week I wanted to see if I could do it myself.Image

I’m not sure I’ve ever had bread turn out so good.  It was fluffy, delicious, buttery… perfect.

Traditional Naan is cooked on the side of a clay oven.  Or, in a pinch, they stick it to the bottom of a pot, and turn it upside down over an open gas flame.

I have neither a clay oven, or a gas stove available to me here.  

So I turned again to the broiler.

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

2 big teaspoons active dry yeast
1 cup warm water
1/4 cup white sugar
3 tablespoons milk
1 egg, beaten
2 teaspoons salt
4 1/2 cups bread flour
1/4 cup butter, melted

1. In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water with sugar. Let stand about 10 minutes, until frothy. Stir in milk, egg, salt, and enough flour to make a soft dough. Knead for 6 to 8 minutes on a lightly floured surface, or until smooth. Place dough in a well oiled bowl, cover with a damp cloth, and set aside to rise. Let it rise 1 hour, until the dough has doubled in volume.
2.
Punch down dough, and pinch off small handfuls of dough about the size of a golf ball. Roll into balls, and place on a tray. Cover with a towel, and allow to rise until doubled in size, about 30 minutes.

Now to cook.

While my chicken was cooking, I’d stuck my pizza stone in the oven, so it was all nice and hot when my Naan was ready to cook.

Roll out each ball of dough until it’s nice and thin. think a little thicker than a tortilla.  Don’t worry, it rises.   Butter both sides, and place on the hot pizza stone, and then stick under the broiler.

You have to keep a close eye on it.  A few of my pieces got a little more done than I intended.  When the top side is browned, flip them over and let the other side brown.  When both sides are browned to your satisfaction, they’re done.  Maybe 3-5 minutes for the whole thing to cook.  It doesn’t take long at all.

Serve hot.

Image

Image

So good.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tikka Masala, Naan, and Little Man

  1. Teresa says:

    Jack in the suit so reminds me of Seth when he was little. 🙂 And it seems like we might have a picture somewhere of you on a rocking horse that looks so much like the one above. 🙂 Have a great day!

Leave a Reply

