Sweet Potatoes and Two

Little man turned 2 yesterday. Image

Although he insists he’s one, or three.  And this morning I heard five when Seth was asking him. Anything but two is acceptable.  I feel quite accomplished in the fact that we’ve kept a child alive and mostly well for two years.

Image

He’s survived sickness…  although I’m convinced that (above) was teething, due to the fact that I had baby molars appear soon after.

He still has all his bits attached.  Not missing any fingers or toes.  All ears are accounted for, and no matter how many times he PERSISTS in falling down stairs, his nose is still there…  .Image

mostly.

I still can’t believe he’s not this anymore…

Image

Or that we’ll be adding another addition in nine weeks.  Ish.  I won’t tempt fate.

To help cope with all these mommy struggles like babies growing up, that we cry about because it’s a lot to handle, these potatoes come in handy.

Image

They are incredible.  They’re sweet, savory, and satisfy a deep longing in your heart that you didn’t know you had…  They’re a little bit like Nutella…  once you have them, there’s no going back.  At least, not for me.

I got them from this recipe:  http://dlynz.com/?p=2353  via pinterest of course, because pinterest is da bomb.

But the problem with this recipe is that it takes a good amount of time and dedication.  And while the end result is heavenly, I don’t always have an hour to dedicate completely to a side dish.

So I was browsing and found a completely different recipe for roasted sweet potatoes, and I thought hey!  Let’s combine the two, and see what happens!

So I did.

2 Medium Sweet potatoes cut into 1 inch cubes

1/4 cup butter melted

2 tablespoons brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon  salt

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

1/4 teaspoon onion powder

1/4 teaspoon chipotle chili powder

1/8 teaspoon granulated garlic

If you want less spicy, leave out the smoked paprika and the chipotle chili powder.

Anyway, pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit, and line a 13 x 9 inch pan with foil.

In a little bowl mix together all your spices until the sugar is all incorporated and there are no lumps.

In a larger bowl, pour the butter over the sweet potatoes and then add the spices.  Mix until all coated.

Pour everything into your foil lined baking pan, and spread across the bottom.  Bake for around 30 minutes until done, stirring every now and then to make sure to get all the sides browned nicely.  The dark bits are the best, chewy, sweet, and better than candy.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

If it were just me, I’d forego any meat and starch or other veggies and simply devour plates of this for dinner.  It’s that good.

About Tabi

I love the simple things in life, like, wearing skirts and going barefoot. Cooking glorious meals to feed friends and family. Trying to find healthy food at the grocery store on a limited budget. Spinning wool, (yes that's from sheep and goats and llamas), crocheting, and weaving. Picking fresh produce out of a garden, pouring real maple syrup over pancakes, and making a warm and loving home for my family. However, I don't use only whole wheat flour. I do not take reusable grocery bags to the store with me. I indulge in boxed meals when I must. I prefer sugar to honey. I do not shop at Whole Foods, Trader Joes, or Earth Fare except on very special occasions when I have extravagant amounts of money to spend. I HATE cloth diapers. I believe in breastfeeding babies, but not until they're five. I buy pre-made baby food. Somewhere in all this, I want to find the balance between the fanatical and the uncaring. Somehow, I hope to settle on doable.
This entry was posted in cooking, veggies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

